4. BLACK COAL AND SILVER HISTORICAL MINING IN THE UPPER SILESIA UNIT

 

Field guide: Dorota Środek

One day field trip. September, 11th (Friday)

Price: 110 eur per person
Duration: 9 a.m. – 7 p.m. ( can be changed depends of traffic)
Starts: meeting point at 9 a.m. infront of the venue
Price include: bus transfer, admission fee, snacks and refreshments in the bus, lunch, guide

Programme: Two stops are provided during the field trip.

1) The Queen Louise mine was the first Prussian state coal mine in Upper Silesia and was opened in 1791. Thanks to its activity, the town of Zabrze was transformed from a small settlement into a large city. The Queen Louise mine is of unique significance in the history of industrial development in Silesia and in Europe. The Queen Louise mine was the first Prussian state coal mine in Upper Silesia and was opened in 1791. Thanks to its activity, the town of Zabrze was transformed from a small settlement into a large city. The Queen Louise mine is of unique significance in the history of industrial development in Silesia and in Europe.

2) Historic sliver mine in Tarnowskie Góry. Your touring starts inside the pithead building, which hosts a modern educational centre to spread knowledge on silver, lead and zinc ore mining in Tarnowskie Góry. Here you can learn about metal mining methods and underground drainage methods. Tourists’ eyes are attracted to a special installation which illustrates operations of the first steam engine in Upper Silesia, brought to the town in late 1700s. An extraordinary touring climate is provided by an atmospheric illumination. Strolling around with a guide, tourists take a look at old tools, a washer, lamps used underground, output transport buckets, and even a mining portable toilet. Here their extraordinary underground journey begins, along corridors inscribed in July 2017 on the UNESCO World Heritage List. On their tour tourists can see mine faces cut in the rock, transport galleries and huge chambers dating back to the turn of the 19th century. This labyrinth of corridors, of which the lowest is only ca. 140 cm high, is the relic of the Friedrich King’s Ore Mine which operated until 1913. Visitors get access only to a small part of the huge complex, created from 1784 onward. The tourist route is 1740 m long and connects three former mine shafts: Angel, Viper and God Bless.

The organisers will arrange sampling of a black coal and a typical Zn-Pb ore from the visiting area.

Min. participants: 16

Max. participants: 50